The Complete God of War Timeline Explained!

The God of War franchise has a sprawling timeline that interweaves its Great Greek Tragedy across 9 games, and 2 wildly distinct mythologies. But how does it all tie together?

00:00 – Opening
00:44 – Ghost of Sparta Flashbacks
02:11 – God of War Flashbacks
04:17 – God of War: Ascension
06:16 – God of War: Chains of Olympus
08:40 – God of War (2005)
12:03 – God of War: Ghost of Sparta
13:42 – God of War: Betrayal
14:15 – God of War 2
17:49 – God of War 3
22:11 – God of War (2018)
25:30 – God of War: Ragnarök
26:12 – Ending

This video breaks down the franchise chronologically, charting the story of Kratos from a hot headed youth, through to a captain in the Spartan army all before his grand odyssey through the Greek and Norse mythologies.

With God of War Ragnarök set to further slide the franchise’s anti-hero, Kratos, into a mythological mire, what better time to dive back into the Ghost of Sparta’s saga of gods and monsters.

Timeline Playlist –